Spread the love

Sathyabama has entered in its 32nd year of inception and has completed 18 years  as Deemed to be University.  The Deemed to be University maintains high standard in teaching, training, and Research. The continuous efforts by all the stake holders, students, parents, Industry and Alumni is making Sathyabama to achieve greater heights, every year. As result of this,  Sathyabama is ranked one among the top 50 Universities in India for 4 consecutive years, NIRF, Government of India. 

Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology held its 28th Convocation on    28th July, 2019 at the Institution Auditorium, with the blessings of Founder Chancellor Hon. Colonel Dr.Jeppiaar. This Convocation was presided by Hon. Chancellor Dr. Mariazeena Johnson, and President Dr. Marie Johnson. 

Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), was the Chief Guest for the occasion. He awarded the degrees to the graduands, appreciated the gold medalists by distributing the merit certificates, gold medals and delivered the convocation address.  

In his address, he emphasized upon various factors by which student upbringing is significant for societal development. He praised founder chancellor’s vision of the Institute and appreciated tremendous efforts continued by the President and Chancellor in taking the institution forward. 

In this memorable ceremony, Shri. Madhavan Nair Rajeevan,Secretary, Ministry of Earth Science (MoES), Shri.R. Umamaheswaran, Outstanding Scientist & Scientific Secretary, ISRO,  Padma Shri S. Arunan, Director,Directorate of Special Projects, Mars Orbiter Mission ( MOM), ISRO, Shri. S. Unnikrishnan Nair, Director, Human Space Flight Programme, ISRO, were awarded the honorary doctorate for their valuable contribution for the progress of our society and thereby our nation. 

A total of 3029 graduants received the Degree, i.e., year 2544 Undergraduates, 401 Postgraduates and 84Undergraduates belong to department of Dental Surgery and 112 Ph.D scholars received their degrees. Among them20 students are awarded with gold medals for their exemplary performance in academics. This year the Colonel       Dr. Jeppiaar Research Excellence award was received by Dr. Tipole Pralhad Jaysingfrom School of MechanicalEngineering for his outstanding research accomplishments.           

The Institute also celebrated its success with placement of 1563 (92.07 %) students from various disciplines of Engineering, Architecture, Dental, Management, Arts & Science in the academic year 2018-19 for both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. Every year an amount of Rs.50,00,000/- is sponsored  towards Dr. JEPPIAAR REMIBAI MERIT SCHOLARSHIP  for meritorious students. Outgoing excellence award was given to 64 students of various Departments. All the graduands were appreciated by the Management and Staff of the Institution.

On this occasion the academic report was presented by Dr.S.Sundar Manoharan, Vice Chancellor. Dr.T Sasipraba, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Dr.B.Sheela Rani, Director (Research), Dr.S.S.Rau, Registrar, Dr. Igni Sabasti Prabhu, Controller of Examination, Dr.E.Logashanmugam, Director-Administration, Dr.G.Sundari, Dean-Student Affairs were present in this convocation.

Photo Gallery


Mixture of entertainment like movie related to photographs, Events, Commercial Events and News.